tulip's study

creations

hey there. in light of cohost shutting down, i realized i needed a new place to express my thoughts and make longer posts. i really hate having to squeeze everything down into a neat character limit. but i didn't necessarily want to rejoin tumblr, or some other kind of network. so, i'm giving this a shot.

there's a question that i'm always asking myself: "what do i want to create, and put out into the world?"

it's a broad question, one that can be tackled from a variety of angles. what is financially viable? what is within my physical and mental limits? what do i love, what can i make that comes from my heart? what do i find compelling? and so on.

in the past, when i've asked myself these questions, i felt pressured to conform to other people's wants and desires. do this to appease the mysterious ways of the algorithm. do that because otherwise i'm afraid of alienating people. behave this way, draw like this to be more appealing to other people's tastes. be funny, be loud, because otherwise i will get drowned out in the crowd.

as i've gotten older - and as online social media around me collapses - i find myself caring a lot less about those things. i am done contorting myself to fit the preferences of total strangers. but i don't necessarily want to disappear from the internet entirely.

one of the strongest reasons why i create art is to share the things i love with other people. it's not the only reason, of course. but i genuinely want to share. and if anyone else finds the things i love even slightly compelling or meaningful, even if it's just one other person, it makes me happy to know that.

so... that is what this blog is for. i want to share my interests and my projects with others. i'd already be working on these things regardless, because i am nothing if not self indulgent and full of special interests. but if you happen to enjoy it too, well... that makes me happy, too.

#thoughts